In Call for Nominations,News Archive

Awards – Call for Nominations (Closing deadline extended to: 31 Jan 2015)

The IFMBE maintains an awards program to recognize every three years on the occasion of the World Congress individuals for their contributions to Biomedical Engineering. There are currently two awards: (1) the Zworykin Award, named after the IFMBE Founder President Professor V. K. Zworykin; (2) the Otto Schmitt Award. The selection of awardees is made by the IFMBE Awards Committee. There will be a new award that will be given out during WC2015 in Toronto, that is the IFMBE John A. Hopps Distinguished Service Award.

In addition to its own awards program, IFMBE also participates in the IUPESM awards program. IUPESM honors individuals with its IUPESM Awards of Merit which recognize every three years a Medical Physicist and a Biomedical Engineer who have established distinguished careers in Medical Physics and Biomedical Engineering, respectively. The IFMBE Awards Committee acts as IFMBE Sub-committee to the IUPESM Awards Committee and is responsible for the selection of the Biomedical Engineer to be awarded.

The Call for Nominations for the following awards are now opened!

1. Otto Schmitt Award
2. Vladimir K. Zworykin Award
3. John A. Hopps Distinguished Service Award
4. IUPESM Awards of Merit

>> more details 

Closing Date for Nominations: extended to 31 January 2015

Submit all nominations to:
Prof James Goh, IFMBE Vice-President
Chair, IFMBE Awards Committee
Email address: