: Latest News

Global Clinical Engineering Day


Whereas, as healthcare technology advances, and dependence of provisioning of care on such technology rises innovation, manufacturing and deployment programs must keep pace by recruiting quality, well-trained professionals capable of understanding the complexity of healthcare equipment, systems operation and applications; and

Whereas, the complexity of healthcare technology today and in the future, makes it essential that those individuals responsible for the safe use, integration and accuracy of these devices and systems are recognized as an invaluable resource to the healthcare delivery industry; and

Whereas, clinical and other engineers, biomedical equipment technicians and other healthcare technology professionals uniquely serve the needs of medical community, patients and institutions and involved with new technology development to further improve the quality of and access to today’s healthcare; and

Whereas, these professionals research, recommend, install, inspect, integrate, create and comply with standards, and repair medical devices and other complicated medical systems, throughout its life cycle as well as advise and train others about the safe, appropriateness and effective use of medical devices, thereby improving quality care, controlling healthcare costs and improving patient safety; and

Whereas, outstanding clinical engineers are recognized with awards bestowed on  this day  https://ced.ifmbe.org/projects/ce-htm-internal-recognition.html; and

Whereas, the International Federation of Biological and Medical Engineering (IFMBE) is a unique federation of national and transnational organizations with more than 120,000 members united by a common goal to increase the understanding and beneficial use of healthcare technologies, and seeks to advance the interests of clinical engineers, and other engineering professionals; now

Therefore, the IFMBE hereby proclaims October 21st, as Global Clinical Engineering Day.

In memoriam Niilo Saranummi

In Memoriam
Professor Niilo Saranummi

Niilo Saranummi was a distinguished engineer and remarkable scientist who left a deep impact in the field of biomedical engineering and health informatics worldwide: in his home country, Finland, in Europe as one of the founders of the European Alliance for Medical and Biological Engineering and Sciences (EAMBES), globally as the President of International Federation for Medical and Biological Engineering (IFMBE) and later also the President of the International Union for Physical and Engineering Sciences in Medicine (IUPESM), as well as a leader, editor and active member within the IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society (IEEE EMBS) and HL7.

Niilo was a member of several scientific and professional academies, IAMBE, AIMBE, IEEE, EAMBES, HL7 and FACTE. For his contributions to biomedical engineering research and his achievements, Niilo was awarded the Otto Schmitt Award. His research interests include personal health systems and eHealth, and innovation, technology transfer and technology policy setting in health technologies. He was committed to the introduction of a complete digital healthcare firstly in his homeland and then to use the experience as an example for others. In the months to follow, members of the biomedical engineering community will commemorate Niilo and refresh memories of common moments, endeavors, achievements, pleasant experiences.

Besides of being a great scientist, educator and organizer, a worker and visionary with humility, Niilo was a supporter, adviser and friend to generations of biomedical engineers. The biomedical engineering community will keep Niilo in eternal memory.

Presentations from the WHO Non-Ionizing Radiation Meeting, 27-29 May 2019 Geneva, Switzerland

>> View the presentation slides

WHO Medical Devices Newsletter (May 2019)

>> Read the newsletter

WHO Health Tech Announcements

>> Read the January 2019 newsletter on medical devices